Skip to main content

NCERT forms committee to develop school syllabus, textbooks for Classes 3-12

National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT) has set up a high-power committee under the Chairpersonship of M. C. Pant, Chancellor, National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration (NIEPA) and Co-Chairperson Prof. Manjul Bhargava, Princeton University for The National Syllabus and Teaching Learning Material Committee (NSTC) to develop the school syllabus, textbooks and study materials for Classes 3-12.

Other members along with others include author and Infosys Foundation chair Sudha Murthy, singer Shankar Mahadevan, and economist and member of the Prime Minister’s Economic Advisory Council Sanjeev Sanyal.

The committee will work to align the curriculum with the National Curriculum Framework for School Education (NCF-SE) developed by the K Kasturirangan-led steering committee as a part of the implementation of the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020. While the final NCF-SE has already been submitted with the Union ministry of education, it is yet to be released in the public domain. The draft of the framework was released in April.

File Attachment